Jul four, 2017 @ 13:49

The Supreme Court (SC) on Tuesday (July four) dominated to uphold President Rodrigo Duterte’s Proclamation No. 216 which declared martial legislation and suspended habeas corpus over Mindanao.

SC spokesperson Theodore Te introduced a majority of the justices throughout the en banc session voted to dismiss the petitions which sought the nullification of Proclamation No. 216 which was declared following the assault of Marawi City by the Maute terrorist group.

Te stated “the Court dismissed the petitions by a vote of 11 of its members; three members voted to partially grant the petitions and one member voted to grant the petitions.”

“All 15 justices have submitted their respective Opinions, whether concurring or dissenting. All Opinions will be submitted by tomorrow,” Te famous.

On the opposite hand, Te stated these are the one particulars he’s allowed to say and failed to call which justices gave their votes.

Three petitions had been filed earlier than the SC in search of to nullify Proclamation No. 216.

The first petition was filed members of the minority bloc of the House of Representatives together with Albay Rep. Edcel Lagman, Akbayan Rep. Tomasito Villarin, Magdalo Rep. Gary Alejano, Capiz Rep. Emmanuel Billones, Ifugao Rep. Teddy Brawner Baguilat Jr.

The different the petition was filed by a gaggle of girls from Marawi City–Norkaya Mohamad, Sittie Nur Dyhanna Mohammad, Noraisha Sani, and Zahria Muti-Mapandi–who’re represented by Alternative Law Groups Inc. led by former Commission on Elections (Comelec) chair Christian Monsod.

The final petition was filed by militant leaders together with Lumad chief Eufemia Campos Culiamat, KMP peasant chief Virgilio Lincuna, Ateliana Hijos of Gabriela, commerce union Roland Cobrado, Carl Antohny Olalo and Roy Jim Balanghig. They are represented by the National Union of People’s Lawyers (NULP).

Source: politics.com.ph