Aug 10, 2017 @ 19:03

The Liberal Party is able to rebuild its ranks after being decimated following the May 2016 elections.

The National Executive Council (NECO) of LP held a gathering Thursday (August 10) to ratify the party presidency of Sen. Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan and the party chairmanship of Vice President Leni Robredo.

NECO additionally ratified a decision conferring the title of chairman emeritus to former President Benigno Aquino III.

With Robredo and Pangilinan’s designations ratified, they’ll appoint such different party officers and political organs and models.

The NECO’s assembly on the University of the Philippines Diliman University Hotel was LP’s first official gathering since final 12 months’s polls.

Among those that attended the assembly included Senators Frank Drilon and Bam Aquino; former LP presidents Mar Roxas, Butch Abad, and Wigberto Tanada; Representatives Kit Belmonte, Nene Sato, Teddy Baguilat, Edcel Lagman, Raul Daza, Bolet Banal, and former House Speaker Sonny Belmonte.

Despite the departure of many LP members from the party, Pangilinan stated he stays optimistic that the party will grow to be a “genuine” folks’s party and might be infused with “new blood” from the academe, fundamental sectors, civil society organizations, entrepreneurs, the non secular and faith-based sectors, arts and tradition, and ladies.

“Sa krisis, sinasabi nila, nariyan din ang oportunidad. At narito tayo humaharap sa oportunidad na palakasin ang ating partido upang maging tunay na partido ng taumbayan,” he stated.