The six-man minority bloc on the Senate has formally moved for the convening of Congress in a joint session to deliberate on President Rodrigo Duterte’s proclamation declaring martial law in Mindanao.

The group on Monday (May 29) filed Senate Resolution No. 390 to immediate their colleagues from the Senate and House to convene to talk about Proclamation No. 216 issued by Duterte on May 23.

Their transfer got here shortly earlier than the higher chamber members got a briefing Monday (May 29) by prime safety officers in closed door proceedings with led by National Security Adviser Hermogenes Esperon, Defense Sec. Delfin Lorenzana and Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) vice chief of employees Lt. Gen. Salvador Melchor Mison Jr. who represented AFP chief of employees Gen. Eduardo Ano.

Sen. Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan, Liberal Party (LP) and one of many decision’s authors, stated they’re of the place that Congress, in joint session, has to deliberate in public proceedings, the matter of the Executive resorting to the imposition of martial law.

“Naniniwala tayo na ito ang intent the Saligang Batas, ito rin ang intent ng ating mga framers ng Saligang Batas na dapat magkaroon ng joint session of Congress,” he stated.

“We believe that this is something that is a matter of public record at itoy dapat malaman ng publiko dahil ultimately sila ang ating amo. Hindi pupuwedeng magkape lang at wag na nating pag usapan kaya wag na tayong magpulong,” Pangilinan added.

The senator countered the assertion of a few of his colleagues in each House of Representatives and the Senate on the non-holding of a joint session by Congress until there’s an intention to revoke Proclamation No. 216.

“If there is no intention to revoke, how will that be reflected? Dahil sabi- sabi? It has to be reflected in an official proceeding at magkaroon ng public record dito sa usapin na ito,” he stated.

Also co-authors of the decision No. 390 are Minority Leader Franklin Drilon, Risa Hontiveros, Bam Aquino, Antonio Trillanes IV and even detained Sen. Leila de Lima.