Most of the senators expressed their assist to the martial regulation declaration of President Rodrigo Duterte in the entire island of Mindanao.

Fifteen out of 23 senators, believes that the Senate Resolution No. 388 signed on Monday, stated the declaration of martial regulation in Mindanao is “satisfactory, constitutional, and in accordance with the law”

“The Senate hereby supports fully Proclamation No. 216 and finds no compelling reason to revoke the same,” the decision stated.

The 15 senators who voted in favor of the martial regulation are all of the members of the bulk bloc of the senate.

“The acts committed by the Maute group are an open attempt to remove from the allegiance to the Philippine Government the part of Mindanao and deprive the Chief Executive of its powers and prerogatives to enforce laws of the land and to maintain public order and safety in Mindanao, hence constitutes the crime of rebellion,” the decision learn.

Meanwhile, eight senators, all whom belong to the minority bloc, and one other two from the bulk bloc didn’t signal the senate decision.

Senators who voted ‘yes’ for Martial Law in Mindanao:

  1. Senate President Aquilino Pimentel III
  2. Senate President Pro Tempore Ralph Recto
  3. Majority Leader Vicente Sotto III
  4. Sen. Sonny Angara
  5. Sen. Nancy Binay
  6. Sen. JV Ejercito
  7. Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian
  8. Sen. Richard Gordon
  9. Sen. Gringo Honasan
  10. Sen. Panfilo Lacson
  11. Sen. Loren Legarda
  12. Sen. Manny Pacquiao
  13. Sen. Joel Villanueva
  14. Sen. Cynthia Villar
  15. Sen. Miguel Zubiri

Senators who didn’t signal the Senate Resolution No. 388

  1. Sen. Francis Pangilinan
  2. Sen. Franklin Drilon
  3. Sen. Bam Aquino
  4. Sen. Leila De Lima
  5. Sen. Risa Hontiveros
  6. Sen. Antonio Trillanes IV
  7. Sen. Grace Poe
  8. Sen. Francis Escudero

Senator Escudero defined that he didn’t signal the decision as a result of he didn’t was not given a duplicate. He additionally stated that the 1987 Constitution doesn’t require the stated decision.

Senators from the minority bloc additionally tried to dam the declaration of Martial Law of President Rodrigo Duterte after they filed on Monday a decision to ask the Congress in a joint session and talk about the suspension of the privilege of the writ of habeas corpus in Mindanao.

Senate Resolution No. 350 was signed by Drilon, Pangilinan, Aquino IV, Hontiveros, De Lima and Trillanes and they stated that the joint session was needed to find out the “constitutional and factual validity” of the Proclamation No. 216 signed by President Rodrigo Duterte following the assaults of the Maute group in Marawi City.

According to the Proclamation 216.


Source: classifiedtrends