Jul 22, 2017 @ 17:04

VOTING 261-18, Congress, in a joint session, on Saturday voted to increase martial law in Mindanao till December 31, 2017 to offer the authorities ample time to finish the Maute insurrection.

On the a part of the Senate, 16 senators allied with President Rodrigo Duterte supported the Chief Executive’s proposal to increase martial law in southern Philippines.

They had been Senate President Aquilino Pimentel III, Senate President Pro Tempore Ralph Recto, Senate Majority Leader Vicente Sotto III, in addition to Senators Juan Edgardo Angara, Joseph Victor Ejercito, Francis Escudero, Richard Gordon, Gregorio Honasan II, Panfilo Lacson, Loren Legarda, Manuel Pacquiao, Francis Pangilinan, Grace Poe, Joel Villanueva, Cynthia Villar, and Juan Miguel Zubiri.

On the different hand, the four opposition members who attended the joint session rejected the President’s enchantment for a chronic martial law in the total southern Philippines.

The minority group which embrace Senate Minority Leader Franklin Drilon in addition to Senators Paolo Benigno Aquino third, Risa Hontiveros, and Francis Pangilinan wished a shorter interval and have to be confined solely to Marawi City.

Senators Nancy Binay and Antonio Trillanes IV had been absent.

Source: politics.com.ph