They had been the originals.

Thirty-one years in the past, 22 males and two girls had been elected as the first batch of senators underneath the 1987 Constitution.

This was the first time the nation voted for senators since 1971 the 12 months earlier than Ferdinand Marcos was a dictator, abolished Congress, and shaped Batasang Pambansa.

Under the transitory provision of new constitution, the first 12 senators with the highest votes would have a six-year time period whereas the subsequent 12 senators would have a three-year time period.

The late Senator Edong Angara was amongst the originals and his current death is only a reminder of how fleeting life and energy may be.

Here is a whole record of the originals who’ve handed away:

1) Edgardo Angara (83 years previous, 13 May 2018)

2) Leticia Ramos- Shahani (87, 20 March 2017)

three) Ernesto Maceda (81, 20 June 2016)

four) Jovito Salonga (95 March 10, 2016)

5) Ernesto Herrera (73, 29 October 2015)

6) Butz Aquino (76 August 17, 2015)

7) Vicente Paterno (89, 21 November 2014)

eight) Sotero Laurel (90, 16 September 2009)

9) Neptali Gonzales (78, 16 September 2001)

10) Raul Manglapus (80, 25 July 1999)

11) Mamintal Tamano (65, 18 May 1994)

12) Santanina Rasul (87, 30 June 1995)

Only half of the first 24 who guided the nation’s first child steps to democracy survive to today.
Only two are nonetheless lively in politics to today – Manila Mayor Joseph Estrada and Toledo City Mayor John Henry Osmena – whereas one is an government in the Duterte administration: Development Bank of the Philippines Chair Alberto Romulo.

Juan Ponce Enrile and Aquilino Pimentel Jr. have come out of retirement to assist President Rodrigo Duterte obtain his federal imaginative and prescient whereas Rene Saguisag and Orly Mercado have gone again to their roots – lawyering and broadcasting, respectively. Joey Lina runs Manila Hotel.

The relaxation have retired from politics Teofisto Guingona Jr., Heherson Alvarez, Wigberto Tanada and Victor Ziga.