The Commission on Higher Education is within the technique of drafting a return service settlement for medical students who will select to avail themselves of free tuition in eight state universities and faculties beginning college yr 2017 to 2018.

CHED Commissioner Prospero De Vera stated the settlement might be just like the one applied by the University of the Philippines Manila College of Medicine.

“For every year that they enjoy the tuition assistance, they have to stay in the country for one year. So it’s a one-to-one return service agreement,” he defined at a press briefing in Malacanang Tuesday (June 20).

The authorities has allotted P317 million for tuition help for all medical students enrolled within the following faculties: UP Manila; Mariano Marcos State University in Ilocos Norte; University of Northern Philippines in Ilocos Sur; Cagayan State University in Region II; Bicol University in Region V; West Visayas State University in Iloilo; MSU in Iligan and Tawi-Tawi; and the UP School of Health Sciences in Leyte.

De Vera stated round 2,000 medical students are anticipated to profit from the free tuition coverage.

After passing the medical board exams, De Vera stated the beneficiaries of the free tuition coverage can do their residency in tertiary hospitals of the federal government. They may serve in provincial and district hospitals and even develop into docs to the barrios.