The House of Representatives has dismissed the impeachment criticism filed by Magdalo party-list Rep. Gary Alejano towards President Rodrigo Duterte.

Voting 217-Four, the plenary on Tuesday (May 30) adopted Resolution No. 1015 throwing out the impeachment criticism towards the President.

Those who voted towards the decision have been Alejano, Albay Rep. Edcel Lagman, Akbayan party-list Rep. Tom Villarin, and Ifugao Rep. Teddy Baguilat.

Under the 1987 Constitution, an impeachment criticism will probably be transmitted to the Senate for trial if it will get the vote of one-third of House members.

In the 17th Congress, this implies at the least 97 of 292 lawmakers must vote to question Duterte for the criticism to achieve the Senate.

The dismissal of the impeachment criticism towards Duterte means those that need to file an analogous case towards him must look forward to May next 12 months earlier than doing so, since there’s a one-year ban on pursuing such proceedings concerning an impeachable official.